NDSU’s Entz Repeats as AFCA FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year

North Dakota State head football coach Matt Entz was named FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association on Wednesday, April 21. Region 4 includes the Missouri Valley Football Conference and Pioneer Football League.

Entz, who has a 22-2 career record in his second year as a head coach, earned his second straight AFCA regional honor by leading North Dakota State to a 6-2 record and the program’s 11th straight NCAA playoff appearance. He and Weber State’s Jay Hill in Region 5 are the only repeat winners from 2019.

In his first season, Entz earned AFCA regional and national coach of the year honors by leading NDSU to a 16-0 record, the Missouri Valley Football Conference title and the FCS national championship. He helped the Bison win four national championships as the defensive coordinator from 2014-2018.

The 2021 Spring AFCA FCS National Coach of the Year will be announced during the week leading up to the FCS national championship, which is scheduled for Sunday, May 16. The five regional winners are finalists for National Coach of the Year.

2021 Spring AFCA FCS Regional Coaches of the Year
Region 1: Danny Rocco, Delaware
Region 2: Scott Wachenheim, VMI
Region 3: Dean Hood, Murray State
Region 4: Matt Entz, North Dakota State
Region 5: Jay Hill, Weber State

Since the AFCA began recognizing district and regional coaches of the year in 1960, North Dakota State’s 15 awards are tied with Nebraska for second-most behind Mount Union’s 18. Previous NDSU winners include Darrell Mudra (1), Ron Erhardt (4), Jim Wacker (1), Don Morton (3), Earle Solomonson (1), Craig Bohl (2), Chris Klieman (1) and Entz (2).

Be the first to comment on "NDSU’s Entz Repeats as AFCA FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year"

Leave a Reply