Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeAg NewsWorld Food Prize Names Branstad as President

World Food Prize Names Branstad as President

The World Food Prize Foundation announces this week that former U.S. Ambassador to China Terry Branstad will join the organization as its President.

World Food Prize Foundation Chair Paul Schickler says, “We are excited to bring on a leader with both global vision and strong roots in agriculture.” Branstad was Iowa’s longest-serving governor and holds the record as the longest-serving governor in the history of the United States. He held the office of Governor of Iowa from 1983 until 1999, and then again from 2011 until 2017, when he was appointed U.S. Ambassador to China. He is a partner with the Branstad Churchill Group, LLC.

The World Food Prize is presented each year in Iowa to an individual for their achievements in improving the quality, quantity, and availability of food in the world. The $250,000 award is presented each October in a ceremony at the Iowa State Capitol that attracts global leaders and participants.


Most Popular

Recent Comments