NAWG Elects New Officers with Keeff Felty as President

Washington, D.C. (March 5, 2024) – The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) elected Keeff Felty as President during their 2024 Annual Conference in Houston, Texas. Felty is a fourth-generation farmer in the Altus area of Oklahoma. He farms cotton, sesame, and pastureland along with his wheat crops. He brings experience from his time with the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association and the Oklahoma State Support Committee Cotton Incorporated, and he has served on various commodity committees within the American Farm Bureau Federation and the Oklahoma Farm Bureau.

“I am looking forward to working with wheat growers and lawmakers to ensure wheat voices are heard during the renewal of the Farm Bill,” said NAWG President and Oklahoma wheat farmer Keeff Felty. “As we continue into 2024, it is critical that industry continue to urge lawmakers to consider a Farm Bill that protects crop insurance, strengthens the farm safety net, and increases funding for our trade promotion programs. It is an honor to be elected as president of NAWG, and I look forward to working with commodity leaders to support agriculture and rural America.”

NAWG’s Board of Directors elected its new board of officers with Pat Clements of Kentucky elected as Vice President, Jamie Kress from Idaho as Treasurer, and Nathan Keane of Montana as the new Secretary. Brent Cheyne of Oregon transitioned into the Past President position. Steve Sheffels of Montana was also elected to the NAWG budget committee.

“We appreciate the time and commitment Brent Cheyne dedicated during his time as NAWG President. Brent delivered excellent testimonies before both the Senate and House Agriculture Subcommittees this past Spring, highlighting the importance of the farm safety net,” said NAWG CEO Chandler Goule. “He continued to be a champion for NAWG’s Farm Bill priorities during our July, September, and January meetings on Capitol Hill. We look forward to continuing the work Brent led during his presidency as we look to Congress to pass a 2024 Farm Bill.”

Two of the National Wheat Foundation’s directors, Jeff Blackwood and Scott Brown, were also re-elected to serve their second term. The National Wheat Foundation elected Bernard Peterson, KY, as Chairman; Gary Broyles, MT, Vice Chairman; and Scott Brown, ID, Secretary/Treasurer.

About NAWG

NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national level. From their offices on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.

Latest news