Hardy and Slaubaugh Elected to Wheat Commission Board

County and district elections for District 1 (southwest ND) and District 4 (central ND) are complete and two producers were elected to serve four-year terms on the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC) board.  Don Hardy, Beach, and Glendon Slaubaugh, Rugby were elected to their first terms. The terms officially begin on July 1, 2024.

The Commission consists of seven producer board members, six of whom are producer elected and one appointed by the governor.  Elections are held every four years to elect county representatives in the district and those representatives elect one producer from their respective district to the Commission board position.  The Commission board is responsible for setting the budget and developing policy and programs for research, market development, domestic promotion, domestic policy and trade policy. 

Hardy has been the Golden Valley county representative to the Commission since 2020.  He is also the Vice President of the Beach Coop Grain Co. and past director on the North Dakota Grain Growers Association. Hardy grows spring wheat, durum, canola, corn, peas and lentils on his farm near Beach. “I believe that we as wheat producers need to promote our industry, and we have that opportunity with the NDWC.  I look forward to representing my district on the Commission,” said Hardy.

Slaubaugh was elected the Pierce county representative, this is his first term.  He started farming in 2018 and is a fourth-generation farmer.  Slaubaugh also runs a trucking company and ag spraying business.  He has six siblings and his parents and some of his siblings remain an active part of the farming operation.  The farm near Wolford grows durum, spring wheat, canola, soybeans, corn and barley.  “Being new to the Commission, I look forward to learning more about the industry and our markets.  I appreciate the opportunity to represent local wheat producers at the state and national level,” Slaubaugh stated.

County representatives elected to terms in 2024 are listed below (incumbents are noted with an asterisk *)

District 1

Adams – Dustin Laufer, Hettinger*

Billings – Loren Bock, Belfield*

Bowman – Colby Schumacher, Reeder*

Dunn – Lenci Sickler, Gladstone*

Grant – Joel Klein, Elgin

Hettinger– vacant

Mercer – Michael Berg, Stanton

Morton – Russel Hoovestol, Mandan

Oliver – Michael Schmidt, Center*

Sioux – vacant

Slope – Matt Lamborn, Amidon

Stark – Jim Bobb, Taylor

District 4

Benson – Doug Schmid, Oberon

Bottineau – vacant

McHenry – Kellen Olson, Anamoose

Ramsey – Matthew Olson, Devils Lake*

Rolette – Mark Martinson, Rolette*

Towner – Alec Miller, Cando*

More Stories

Today's Top Stories