Department of Public Safety Announces May Sobriety Checkpoint List

(Pierre, SD) — South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has scheduled 17 sobriety checkpoints in 15 counties statewide in May. The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and are used to encourage sober driving. Checkpoints are scheduled for Brookings, Meade, Walworth, Beadle, Yankton, Charles Mix, Pennington, Minnehaha, Jones, Lawrence, Codington, Stanley, Brown, Fall River, and Day counties. In 2021, 56 people were killed, and 690 were involved in alcohol-related crashes in South Dakota. Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether a checkpoint is planned in their county.

More Stories

Today's Top Stories