Five Bison Men Recognized as Academic All-League for Outdoor Track & Field

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The North Dakota State men’s track & field team was represented by five Bison on the Summit League Academic All-League team for the 2023 outdoor season.

Cullen Curl, Koate Deebom, Trevor Ottrdahl, Benji Phillips and Jacob Rodin earned the honor by virtue of their athletic and academic achievements. Phillips earned the honor for the fifth time in his career, while Otterdahl and Rodin were each recognized for the fourth time.

Curl (Bismarck, N.D.) is a biological sciences major with a 3.90 cumulative grade point average. He was the Summit League runner-up in the 400m dash, and ran on NDSU’s conference champion 4x400m relay.

Deebom (Fargo, N.D.) owns a 4.0 GPA as an architecture major. He placed fifth in the long jump at the Summit League Championships and was named the league’s Scholar of the Championships.

Otterdahl (Rosemount, Minn.) graduated with a bachelor’s degree from NDSU in mathematics and statistics with a 3.97 cumulative GPA, and also earned an MBA with a 4.0 GPA. He earned Championships Field MVP honors after winning the hammer throw, shot put and discus at the conference meet.

Phillips (Glasgow, Mont.) posted a 4.0 cumulative GPA as a double major in psychology and exercise science. He placed 16th in the javelin at the NCAA Outdoor Championships this week, and was recognized as the NCAA Elite 90 Award winner for owning the highest cumulative GPA of any men’s athlete at the national meet.

Rodin (Kenmare, N.D.) had a 4.0 GPA with a double major in agricultural economics and finance. He won the Summit League 800m title in a school record, meet record, and facility record of 1:47.58. Rodin placed 17th in the 800m at the NCAA Championships for honorable mention All-America status.

To be eligible for The Summit League Academic All-League team, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.30 (on a 4.00 scale), completed at least one full academic year at the current institution and participated in 50 percent of their team’s competitions. The award is voted on by the institutions’ faculty athletic representatives and sports information directors.

More Stories

Today's Top Stories