Jackson Blake Named Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick Finalist

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – Sophomore forward Jackson Blake has been named one of the three Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick Finalists, as announced by the award committee on Thursday.

The three finalists for this year’s Hobey Baker Award were selected from the initial list of Top Ten candidates by the 30-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting. Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game; strength of character on and off the ice; sportsmanship; and scholastic achievements.

Blake becomes the seventh North Dakota player to earn the distinction and the third in the last five years, joining Jordan Kawaguchi (2020) and Shane Pinto (2021).

The Eden Prairie, Minn., native put together one of the best sophomore seasons in program history, finishing with 22 goals and 38 assists to become only the second UND player in the last decade to hit the 60-point mark in a single season (Brock Boeser, 2015-16). His 60 points rank fourth in the nation and pace the NCHC while his 38 assists sit tied for third in the country and atop the conference leaderboard.

He was even better as the calendar flipped to the new year, potting points in 21 of UND’s 22 games during 2024 while finishing with 34 points over his last 18 games to help the Fighting Hawks capture their fourth Penrose Cup in the last five seasons and sixth overall in the 11-year history of the league.

During NCHC play, Blake shattered the conference’s scoring record with 37 points in just 24 games on his way to becoming NCHC Player of the Year, Forward of the Year and earning a unanimous spot on the All-NCHC First Team.

For his career, Blake has 38 goals and 64 assists for 102 points in 79 career games to sit as only the second NoDak player to join the 100-point club as a sophomore in the last 30 years (Zach Parise, 2003-04). He hit the century mark in just 78 games, which is the sixth-fastest mark in program history.

The award will be presented on Friday, April 12, 2024 at the NCAA Frozen Four and will air live on NHL Network beginning at 5 p.m. (CT).

For more information on North Dakota hockey, follow on social media @UNDmhockey or visit FightingHawks.com.

North Dakota Hobey Hat Trick Finalists:

Jackson Blake – 2024

Shane Pinto – 2021

Jordan Kawaguchi – 2020

Zane McIntyre – 2015

Matt Frattin – 2011

Ryan Duncan – 2007

Zach Parise – 2004

Jeff Panzer – 2001

Latest news